My first visit to the Dubai Sports City Cricket Stadium

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I lived in Dubai from 2005-2008 one of the major projects taking place in the city was the construction of Dubai Sports City – a world-class sporting area that would feature stadiums, academies and housing.

Although a number of facilities have been delayed due to the world financial crash one project that has come to fruition is the 25,000-seater Cricket Stadium which opened in 2009.

I paid my first visit to the Dubai Cricket Stadium on January 18, 2012 to watch the second day of the Test match between Pakistan and England.

When getting to the ground, which is located near the Emirates Road and Dubai Autodrome, you do feel that it is a bit too far away from the major residential and tourist hubs of the city. In my opinion there are not enough transport links getting to and back from the stadium to the city, so you have to make do with waiting for a taxi.

The distance and transport options are a downside, but that’s the only things I would say bad about the overall experience.

The stadium itself was really impressive. I sat in premium seating and paid 100AED for my ticket – and this works out to be about £17. The cheapest seats on the day were for 20AED (less than £4).

For 100AED I got a very comfy seat in the upper tier behind the bowler’s arm, access to the Els Club bar and above all a fantastic view – as seen from the pictures above that were taken while I was sat.

And even though there were no more than 2,000 people inside the arena the acoustics are excellent, so even a rowdy bunch of 50-100 people can make some great noise. No doubt when the ground is full the atmosphere would be electric.

I will definitely watch cricket here again and I hope that the other stadiums are finished at some point in the future as this area has the potential to be Dubai’s biggest achievement.

For more info on the Dubai Cricket Stadium click here

2 thoughts on “My first visit to the Dubai Sports City Cricket Stadium

Leave a Reply

